Angel Pair has spawned!!!
Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook
Register

Angel Pair has spawned!!!

This is a discussion on Angel Pair has spawned!!! within the Breeding/Spawning Section forums, part of the Aquarium Related Chat category; Hi, I am new to BCAquaria and this is my first post in this forum. I have a breeding pair ...

Forum Newbie

DefaultAngel Pair has spawned!!!

Hi, I am new to BCAquaria and this is my first post in this forum.

I have a breeding pair of angel fish, in a 10G breeder tank, and they spawned about 3 days ago. I know the tank is way too small for the breeding pair, but that is all I had as a spare tank. I am hoping to move them into a 20Ga tank soon. The mother is fanning and protecting the eggs and dad is overseeing the eggs as well. I can start to see tails forming and I suspect they will be wigglers soon. The water temperature is 80F, and there is a AQ30 hob filter set to low and with a sponge prefilter on the intake tube. I also have a sponge filter as well. Moreover, I have a large Marina breeder box set up on the back of the 10G tank, with a small 40gph power head pump set to low to move water from the 10G tank into the breeder box. It works very well. I have a sponge in the marina box outflow area to prevent fry from being pushed out of the breeder box and into the 10G tank. Problem is the water temp in the breeder box is only about 76-77F, which is about 3-4F cooler than the 10 tank. I was originally planning to use a turkey baster and suck up the eggs and soon to be wigglers into the breeder box, but I am concerned about the temperature differential. I don't have a small heat to put inside the 0.5Gal marina breeder box. I was hoping by putting the eggs/wigglers inside the breeder box, it would be easier to feed the fry, and less change of the parents eating them. I am also feeding generously pellets to the parents so that they don't get hungry and consider the fry snack.