Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook
Register

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By jobber
  • 1 Post By Diztrbd1
  • 1 Post By 2wheelsx2

HOW TO: Get rid of Brown Algae/Diatom Bloom

This is a discussion on HOW TO: Get rid of Brown Algae/Diatom Bloom within the Planted Tank Specific forums, part of the Aquarium Related Chat category; I'm no algae expert but brown algae growing on the glass and on the surface of rocks etc is a ...

Default HOW TO: Get rid of Brown Algae/Diatom Bloom

I'm no algae expert but brown algae growing on the glass and on the surface of rocks etc is a diatom bloom. Similar to the below picture.

What are diatoms you ask?
    Diatom is a very common type of algae which occurs most of the time towards the end of a tanks' cycling period. It is typically tan or brown in colour.

What causes it?
    "Causes of diatoms
    Virtually all new aquariums will go through a diatom bloom, which is nothing to worry about. Once they’ve reduced the excess nutrients they thrive on – particularly silicates – they will die back and other algae will move in unless limited by plant growth. In more mature aquariums, the cause of diatom blooms may be excessive nitrate and other nutrients, a lack of light – which diatoms don’t really require but which will stunt other competing plant growth – or insufficient oxygen." Lack of water circulation and direct/indirect sunlight is also known to contribute to the cause.

How can I do to get rid of it?