Question about the species banned in BC
Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook
Register

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Question about the species banned in BC

This is a discussion on Question about the species banned in BC within the Aqua Lounge forums, part of the Aqua Lounge category; I was wondering what is the law for the species that are banned in BC. If keeping / breeding / ...

DefaultQuestion about the species banned in BC

I was wondering what is the law for the species that are banned in BC.
    If keeping / breeding / selling / buying for example white clouds is illegal, if someone already keeping them what should do with those fish, kill them!!!!!????

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

2. Remove Advertisements
    BCAquaria.com
    Advertisements

Forum Novice

I am no lawyer for endangered species or conservation issues, but my GUESS would be that YOU can keep your own until they die. Just don't breed, give away, or toss these critters into natural streams and lakes (including sewer systems).
    arash53 likes this.

Forum Guru

Yes that’s how it goes . Just keep and don’t let into natural environments

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

5. Remove Advertisements
    BCAquaria.com
    Advertisements

Super Moderator SeaHorse_Fanatic's Avatar

Yup, they are sort of grandfathered in for "old" owners. Can't get new ones or release your old ones, but you're allowed to keep what you already have.

I think a lot of the push to ban possibly invasive species (which could potentially survive in BC waters and lands) was due to the released snakehead found in Central Park's pond in Burnaby a few years back. The media blew it way out of proportions, reporting that snakeheads could possibly attack children and such, and so the government began a campaign of banning fish & reptiles as pets.

Anthony
    The Guy, arash53 and geealexg like this.