7th Annual CAF Discus Grow Out Contest: Fishman21
Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook
Register

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree28Likes

7th Annual CAF Discus Grow Out Contest: Fishman21

This is a discussion on 7th Annual CAF Discus Grow Out Contest: Fishman21 within the CAF Annual Discus Grow-out Contest forums, part of the Canadian Aqua Farm Discus Hatchery category; So...Here goes: Day 1 I'm new to Discus care. I have been in the hobby for many, many years, always ...

Forum Resident

Default7th Annual CAF Discus Grow Out Contest: Fishman21

So...Here goes:

Day 1

I'm new to Discus care. I have been in the hobby for many, many years, always with an interest in cichlids, however too intimidated to try something as complex as Discus. Late last year I decided it was time for a new challenge and I believe this is it. So after patiently waiting through Christmas, I headed over to collect my 6 guys from Rick today and saw the setup. His fish are amazing! Many different types and sizes but not a single sick fish in sight, and every tank is spotless. A great collection and real motivation to grow these little guys out.

My plan for the competition starts out as follows:
    - 10 gallon tank to start - it makes water changes much easier.
    - Temperature 30
    - Daily water changes using water from my 70G reservoir tank (I keep this tank running continuously to support water changes in my 210G)
    - Food - initially FD blackworms as they are accustomed to, then over time transitioning to a mix of FD BW, frozen foods and flakes.

Discus day 1.jpg

Long term plan - I plan to rehouse these to my 210 in several months time once they when they are a healthy size.

210G.jpg

210G II.jpg

(Apologies for the phone pic quality)

Thanks for checking in!
    Last edited by Fishman21; 01-10-2018 at 08:13 PM.
    210G South American - , Corydoras julii, Altum Angels, Discus, Clown pleco, Black Ghost knifefish
    90G for "Bobby the Turtle"