New Hydor Koralia Evolutions running backwards?
Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook
Register

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
Like Tree1Likes

New Hydor Koralia Evolutions running backwards?

This is a discussion on New Hydor Koralia Evolutions running backwards? within the Equipment Talk Section forums, part of the Aquarium Related Chat category; Is anybody else having this problem? I did some searching and it seems some say it's because it's dirty or ...

  1. #1
    Mr Know It all 2wheelsx2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    South Burnaby
    Posts
    8,717

    Default New Hydor Koralia Evolutions running backwards?

    Is anybody else having this problem? I did some searching and it seems some say it's because it's dirty or others say that you can flip the plug and make it run forwards. I'm getting tired of having to fix the thing every time after I stop the pumps for feeding. Some people say that Hydor's service sucks and others say they'll give you a bushing to fix it.

    This is not a rant thread. I just want to know if anyone else is having this problem and whether there is a long term solution before I put them all up for sale and go to Tunze.
    My 100 gallon square tank
    My pleco picture thread
    46 Gallon Bowfront
    ADA Cube Garden
    Saving the world from being plecoless, one at a time....
    No more sig pics

  2. Remove Advertisements
    BCAquaria.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Forum Resident discuspaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Surrey - Cloverdale
    Posts
    822

    Default

    I have the same problem every once in a while, Gary.
    It usually corrects itself when I unplug it, and plug it back in.
    A couple of times, I've had to actually remove it, clean it up, and put it back. It is annoying !

  4. #3
    Mr Know It all 2wheelsx2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    South Burnaby
    Posts
    8,717

    Default

    Thanks for the response Paul. I never had a problem with the old ones. I did some more digging after this post, and it appears to be a design flaw as they have a FAQ on it: HYDOR componenti per acquari
    hp10BII likes this.
    My 100 gallon square tank
    My pleco picture thread
    46 Gallon Bowfront
    ADA Cube Garden
    Saving the world from being plecoless, one at a time....
    No more sig pics

  5. Remove Advertisements
    BCAquaria.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Forum Resident discuspaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Surrey - Cloverdale
    Posts
    822

    Default

    Thanks Gary - I've contacted Hydor for the new bushing.

  7. #5
    Forum Resident Ra's al Ghul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    531

    Default

    I found them to have great service, one of the clips broke on the power head and they sent me 4 new covers for free. Great experience dealing with them

  8. #6
    Mr Know It all 2wheelsx2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    South Burnaby
    Posts
    8,717

    Default

    How did you guys contact them? Email? Can you share the address with me?

    Edit: Never mind, should have checked through my own link.
    My 100 gallon square tank
    My pleco picture thread
    46 Gallon Bowfront
    ADA Cube Garden
    Saving the world from being plecoless, one at a time....
    No more sig pics

  9. #7
    Forum Novice mdwflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    delta, BC
    Posts
    413

    Default

    I used to have the problem almost every tank clean. I would plug it in, and see if it was right or wrong, then unplug it again. Usually the 2nd time it worked. Lately I have had no problems with either, not sure why
    135g- African Cichlids, and Plecos

    https://www.bcaquaria.com/forum/tank-...venture-21703/

    Plecoholics Anonymous Member #18

  10. #8
    Forum Resident discuspaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Surrey - Cloverdale
    Posts
    822

    Default

    BTW, Gary,
    After answering a couple of preliminary questions from them, asking me to check on certain pieces to make sure they weren't the problem, we mutually agreed I was missing the necessary bushing, and they said they'd post me their new version.
    Hopefully that will solve the problem.
    I can only speculate my original bushing must have come off during a cleaning of the unit, and I never noticed.

  11. #9
    Mr Know It all 2wheelsx2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    South Burnaby
    Posts
    8,717

    Default

    That's what I am thinking too Paul, as I had it come apart once, which caused the original overhaul of the wood placement. Because this is the only unit that does it.
    My 100 gallon square tank
    My pleco picture thread
    46 Gallon Bowfront
    ADA Cube Garden
    Saving the world from being plecoless, one at a time....
    No more sig pics

  12. #10
    Forum Resident Ra's al Ghul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    531

    Default

    Gary,

    Send me a pm if you don't have the contact info.

 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast


Similar Threads

  1. LF:Hydor Koralia Powerheads
    By Tequilla in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2012, 04:02 PM
  2. LF: Hydor Koralia Nano
    By m_class2g in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2011, 11:20 AM
  3. FS: Hydor Koralia Evolution
    By Grete_J in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2011, 05:37 AM
  4. LF/ Hydor Koralia
    By joker1535 in forum Classified Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2011, 11:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Vancouver Website Hosting Chilliwack Website Design