Disappearing shrimp goby problem
Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook
Register

Disappearing shrimp goby problem

This is a discussion on Disappearing shrimp goby problem within the Marine Chat forums, part of the Aquarium Related Chat category; Hi everyone. I have a 33 gallon FOWLR setup that has been up and running for approx. 8 months now ...

Forum Newbie

Question Disappearing shrimp goby problem

Hi everyone.

I have a 33 gallon FOWLR setup that has been up and running for approx. 8 months now I think. First SW tank I've done, but I have some previous experience with FW. Live sand, about 25 lbs of live rock. Currently it is home to a flame angel, a bicolor blenny, a lawnmower blenny, 3 green chromis, a firefish, a cleaner shrimp, a tiger pistol shrimp, assorted nassarius snails and an astrea snail.

Now the problem... you may have noticed I didn't list a shrimp goby for the pistol shrimp. I did get a black-ray goby with the shrimp, they were happily paired and I would nearly always see the goby at feeding time and sometimes out keeping a watchful eye as the shrimp was digging their burrow. This lasted for a few months and everything seemed fine.

One day I realized I never saw the goby anymore, and more suspicious I would see the pistol shrimp poking his head out by himself at feeding time - no goby to be seen. This went on long enough (several weeks) that I assumed something untoward had happened to the goby, so I purchased another one (same kind) and introduced it to the tank.

After adding the new black-ray goby to the tank, it sat at the bottom for a bit before disappearing, into the rock and the shrimp's tunnels I assumed. However, I never saw it again after that, and I continued to see the shrimp by himself. This was about 3 weeks ago now that I added the second goby, and I have to assume it is no more as well based on the behavior of the previous one (you think I would've seen it at least once since adding it to the tank!).