British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I recieved my plant order from Aquaflora last night and got my 15 gallon going with a dry start. Substrate is Eco-Complete. Plant list will eventually include:

HC
Ammannia gracilis
Hygrophila ssp. Pantanal Wavy
Ludwigia repens
Heteranthera zosterifolia
E. tenellus

Stock list will be:

Chili rasboras
Cherry shrimp
Amano shrimp

Tank details:

15 gallon w/ glass top
24W sunblaster light from Solar Hydroponics
100w Stealth heater
AC30

I might do some different species of shrimp later on, but I am new to shrimp and don't want to start with really expensive ones. I got the HC planted for the dry start. There is one more pot coming that will be added. Right now there is 3 pots in the tank. I am trying to achieve a golf course type look for this tank. The HC will be the fairway, the tenellus is the rough and the rest of the plants will form the forest. I also have a nice piece of driftwood that will be a centerpiece.

Attachments

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Will do. I have never attempted anything like this before so we shall see how it goes.

·
Registered
480 Posts
Good luck !!! with everything - I will be watching your adventure for sure as I have always wanted to do something like this but have never had the confidence :).

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Good luck !!! with everything - I will be watching your adventure for sure as I have always wanted to do something like this but have never had the confidence :).
Thanks Gwenn, you should just give it a try. What's the worst that can happen?

I would try to break the HC up into smaller clumps (I know it's a lot of work) and spread it out a little better so you get faster carpeting. But so far, looks great.