British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
2,838 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Be Prepared for the wall of text to come! Pictures are on its way.

I've been managing this tank off and on for a couple years now, its been through some tough tough times, rescaped, replanted, lighting changes, co2, non co2, moved homes, kid messing with it etc. pretty much i'd get into it, then get lazy and the poor tank suffered. The fish always made out fine atleast.

Thats all changed now, im putting my foot down and gettin this tank stable so 1 day a week upkeep and daily dosing regime will make it easy. My goal is to get it balanced and i figure it was the lighting making it such a pain before. Plus my 2yo is in love with the tank and i owe it to him to show some responsibility with it.

For starters (updated dec 26th)

Tank: 29 gallon
Substrate: Tahitian Moon Sand
Lighting: 2 bulb sideways Twister CFLs, 21W 6500K 2 inches above the water.
Filtration: Rena XP1 (biowheels/crushed coral/course,fine,micro sponges/filter floss)
Decor: Drift wood x4 pieces ; Pebbles and a piece of slate. I tried to make it somewhat random looking.
Misc: heater set at 25.5

Plants:
Red Tiger Lotus (background)
windelov (driftwood right side)
java fern (middle driftwood)
Anubias nanas (right foreground)
Flame moss (left driftwood)
glosso (center foreground)
Crypt willisii (center-right)
Crypt wendtii (left back corner
Livestock:
6 black phantoms
5 cardinals
several dwarf otoc
1 Calico BN

Macros: standard ei
Micros: CSM+B - 5ml
Changes: 50% on monday

Co2: metricide dosing

Now onto the journal
-----------------------------
Progress: