British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 20 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As mentioned on my first Nano Reef experiment, I have decided to convert my 57G Rimless planted tank into a Mix Reef with special blessings of my budget manager, a.k.a. my wife. :lol:

Yes another Reef tank for me! :bigsmile:

This setup will just be a bigger version of what I have started, setup a reef tank as cheap as possible.... again, using existing equipments that I have and keep it simple as possible.

INITIAL SETUP
Hardware:

Tank: 57G Starphire Rimless Tank
Lighting: Sunlight Tek 39W x 4 T5HO
Skimmer: None
Sump: None
Bio Filter: 30lb Dry/Live Rocks (I need to add more)
Mechanical Filter: Marine Land Hot Magnum
Pump(s): Petco Power Head (400Gph), MaxiJet 600 (I think the Vortech MP10 would be nice ;)

Dosing: None
Salt: Reef Crystals (Instant Ocean)
WC: 10% Every Week
Photo Period: 12 hrs.

Livestock: 30-40 lbs (I've been cycling this rock for about 2 months no)

Fish:
Inverts:
Corals:
Cleanup Crews: Nerite snails, Asterea snails, 1 Turbo Snail, 1 Red-legged Hermit Crab (Sub Contract from my 20G Nano)

Day 1:

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
:lol: I'm seeing my tank in my dreams already, so I started settin it up yesterday. :bigsmile:

I'll throw in some azure damsel as my test fish or green chromies. I want to have a yellow tang, i like the hippo tang but they say that hippo tang needs more room to swim. Maybe a couple of Picasso Clown Fish.

I'll be stocking it with LPS and Softies. My wife love those softies.

Any suggestions on fish?

·
Registered
1,010 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
After placing some dead shrimp in the tank, algae bloom took place in no time and the water turned hazy. Brown algae are all over my rocks.