British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My first tank journal!
I'm a complete newbie so this may not be all that interesting... haha
But perhaps it can be useful to future newbies. Especially when I start running into a bunch of problems! :)

First I want to say a big thanks to everyone on here! It's been so helpful to read about others' experiences and I'm so very grateful for all the advice and answers I've received. Special shout out to jhj0112, jbyoung00008, Fish rookie, Steve, Rockman, nigerian prince, Reckon, effox and 2wheelsx2 for your patience and your wisdom. :)

I got a 12g fluval edge from the very kind TigerOscar. I read all the instructions and practiced setting it up on my floor:

FE setup.jpg

I received some conflicting advice regarding cleaning up the rocks (purchased at a pet store).
At one pet store I was told "Boil them, don't bake them - baking them might make them explode."
At another pet store I was told " Bake them, don't boil them - boiling them might make them explode."

I'm not in the market for explosions so I tried what I'm going to call the UnderseaGal method: I let them sit in a bucket of really hot water, then changed the water. I repeated this about 6 times. Then I poured boiling water on them and brushed them like my life depended on it. I repeated this about 3 times. By then the water would stay clear after each rinse - I figured I was done.

I have no idea whether this is enough, but I hope so.

FE rock cleaning.jpg

Then I put in my substrate, ADA Malaya:

FE substrate.jpg

Then the rocks. I tried a fancy iwagumi style layout (thanks to battmanh for the tip!) but keep in mind I'm new at this:

FE rocks.jpg

Then it was time to fill part way before planting. I recently attended an ADA seminar and I learned this nifty trick about covering your substrate and rocks in plastic wrap before filling - worked like a charm, no cloudiness at all:

FE filling.jpg