British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I’ve been running a 10-gallon since like 2019. Around the end of 2019, my cycle ended up crashing, and I lost all my fish. The tank for a very long time had been running untouched, just with the plants. I was too sad and trying to sell all my tanks.

Then in 2020, the love for the hobby returned, and I continued with my tank, did a few water changes because the nitrates were skyrocket high, ammonia was intense yellow, nitrites was intense and so was pH with intense blue.

I added a betta (baby), and the Bette has grown since, and is doing well, ~4-6 months later. No issues.

Because of this, my dumb head, though it would be OK to add shrimp. I use to have neos (and somehow, one survived the intense water parameters after I had neglected the tank for x amount of time.) So, I spent quite a bit of money on shrimp from local breeders who aren’t professional.

The low quality shrimps were doing fine, I didn’t notice any deaths, unless there was, but I don’t think so.

Then, 2-3 weeks later I added higher quality ones, about 14. Ever since adding the higher quality ones, it’s been nothing but death. I’ll go feed them, and they’ll be grazing, then 2-3 hours later, I will find one or two dead. On their backs, and twitching.

I check my water parameters everything is fine, 0, 0, and nitrates either 0-5 ppm anywhere in there (loads of floaters, and some stems, anubais, ferns, etc) so makes sense that they’re showing 0. pH is high in the morning it seems, then hardcore drops to 6, by later or night time.

So, then I checked my temp, 83 F. Turns out the heater was overheating from 77-78 to 83 F. I end up buying a new heater. New heater even set at 78, still heats up to 80 F / 81 F. I do think the temperature is playing a big role in their die off.