British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I woke up yesterday morning to find one of my bettas bloated and pineconing :( Has anyone successfully treated dropsy before? I know your suppose to use epsom salts but usually they succumb anyways so Im torn on weather trying to treat him or putting him to sleep. He hasn't really moved in two days and he appears to be suffering at the surface..

Also does anyone know if its contagious? I have a betta in a 1g quarintine bowl that would much rather be in this 5g tank but I dont want him to get sick too :(

·
Registered
3,138 Posts
Epsom Salts will raise your GH and aid in Osmoregulation. A point I have been crusading about for many months. Try it although the Betta may be too far gone already. You may want to consider using Epsom salt or similar products in the future on going to improve your conditions overall.

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks grant. I think I will send him off to the rainbow bridge... He seems pretty far gone and I think hes really suffering :( He's recently become blind after his neighbour jumped the divider and focused on attacking his eyes so his quality of life has been very very poor for the past month.

anyways I bought him 2 years ago from your store so he's had a nice life.

·
Registered
308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
what about the contagious factor? anyone know? i want to put my male thats in a bowl in here but I don't want him to get dropsy :( i could disinfect the tank with bleach but its filled with tons of java ferns... i dont think i can disinfect them?

·
Super Moderator
5,317 Posts