British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I switched from 55 gallon to a 75 gallon. I have no knowledge or just wasn't thinking correctly about the fish when setting the 75 gallon tank. I think it's a disaster...sort of. Currently my fishes are in the bucket, but the fish tank is still sorting the temperature because it's cold and salt is not dissolve, it could take probably 3 or more hours since I screwed up my heaters and broke the 300W them I'm using a 100w heater =(.

HIGH PRIORITY QUESTION!
I want to know what I can add in the bucket to keep the fish alive? very critical that this needs to be answered. I don't want to wake up and they're dead.

and I'm not sure what is in the water, but suddenly tons of small bristle worms came up I think dead...could it be because of the water temperature or there's a chemical in the water that killed them? Scared to put my fishes in.

·
Registered
193 Posts
What happened? How long was it setup? Did it happen over a day?

What is the temperature of the tank? It could have been something else.. it is pretty warm so the water won't drop below whatever your ambient temperature is.. a 100W heater should be ok temporarily in this weather.

If you have fish in a bucket.. you need to have a heater in there and some way of moving water in terms of a water pump or an airstone.

What kind of fish are you trying to save?

·
Super Moderator
453 Posts
Take a breath first and then answer scherzo's questions.

Assuming your fish aren't packed in the bucket like sardines, they should survive the night fine in a bucket of heated SW with a powerhead providing circulation. You could put in a few pieces of live rock for filtration purposes as well.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What happened? How long was it setup? Did it happen over a day?