British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today is the 4th day I've got the cherries into my new tank and I just found a couple of dead shimps :( My tank is cycled for over a month with household ammonia. test results Ammonia 0 Nitrite 0 nitrate 10ppm pH6.5. Is it normal to have shimp deaths when introduced to new tank or is something wrong ? the rest of the shrimps look healthy to me but this is my first time having shrimps so I can't be 100% sure. Tank is a 10G planted and shrimp only with some baby snails

·
Registered
232 Posts
Depending where you got your shrimps from as it could be PH shock. Cherries are pretty tough.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Might not necessarily be a pH shock but I think it's probably stress. Once I got 10 Crystal Reds from the pet shop with them lots dying in the tanks and 7 died within the first month and total death of 8 by the second month. Then when I shipped some CRS from Vancouver and left them in the central mailbox overnight in -5-10C weather and all 10 died within 2 month again. So maybe you put them under stress when bringing them in? Like leaving in the car too long or not properly accumulated before introducing?

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I don't have a Gh or Kh test kit .. maybe I should get one. Do shrimps really need hard water? A lot of web sites suggest that they like soft and low pH water that's why i didn't bother.. maybe I should look into that

·
Registered
3,138 Posts
lamyfung,
There is a big difference between soft water and rain water which is what we have in the lower mainland. Check out my sticky in our sub forum for more details on this. This goes for keeping fish as well.

·
Registered
232 Posts
For Cherries its better to go with harder water and a ph of 7 to 7.5. They are not like CRS, Tigers, etc that does better in softer water. Takes the guessing out.

·
Registered
318 Posts