British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For my 50G planted my clown loach comitted suicid a few months ago by jumping out of the tank over night. Now I am getting a growing population of snails. I have 20 or so amano shrimp in there as well so I would like peoples opinion on wether i should get Assisns or another clown loach to control the snail population? Will the loach leave my shrimp alone?

·
Registered
430 Posts
I'm not an expert, but I believe the Clown Loach would likely eat your shrimp...

·
Registered
2,838 Posts
normally a population bloom of snails is due to over feeding, try cutting back a bit, and remove the uneaten food. you can also bait the snails out. and get assassin snails too, to keep the pond snails non existent, i think they're one of the coolest snails out there :D

·
Registered
505 Posts
A few assassin snails cleared up my problem in no time at all. And I've heard that it's best to keep clown loaches in a group, so in your situatio , I would get the assassin snails.

·
Registered
141 Posts
I had a problem with snails. I try;d the manual method first, taking out about 5 water bottles worth. It was still a problem. I got 5 assassin snails. And the trumpets would RIDE THE ASSASSIN! So i got more assassins. No difference, they still gave out trumpet rides. So i looked into loachs. from what i found looking around, clown loachs are likely the most aggressive snail eaters, BUT, the get BIG, the can be very hard to catch, and and have a habit of disturbing the substrate. Theres a couple/few more loaches that eat snails, i try'd the ZEBRA, worked very well. I also have shrimp, and the zebra's have paid no attention to them. In fact i'm actually having a shrimp population boom right now.

I still have snails, but at least it's manageable now......

·
Registered
743 Posts