British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all

I am rather new to Planted tanks and like everyone else after getting the plated tank bug i want to look at Co2.

I was using Flourish Excel and also flourish but i am finding that in the 75g tank it goes pretty quick.

I am not running a high tech tank i would just like to see more growth from my Java Ferns and Anubis and some other low tech plants.

Can anyone give me some ideas of how i can get a little Co2 into my tank without breaking the Bank. I would be happy with a little Co2 i dont need to go heavy on the amount just enough to help a little bit! I would like to stay away from DIY bottles as its in my living room and the wife might not like that.

I thought about some of the Small Fluval systems for the 20g tanks just to see what happens and then maybe add a paintball canister to it instead. Any ideas totally lost and confused!

Adanac00

·
Registered
5,556 Posts
Look into Metricide. You'll get a gallon or so jug. Might be a cheaper option even for a 75g. I remember having it delivered to my door and I think it was under $50. The problem with the disposables and paint balls is you save a little bit at first, and then end up paying for it later with refills big time.

Read up on the safety and dosing of Metricide though before you commit to purchasing it.

Just a thought since it's not a high tech tank.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you effox i am thinking this might be the solution although i would enjoy not having to dose daily but oh well it looks like a decent price for 1 gal and can last alot longer then excel!

Adanac00

·
Registered
5,556 Posts
Yeah, double check the dosage (essentially twice the strength of excel), but when I was using it on my tanks I think I only did it 2 or 3 times a week, not every day.