British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Due to the fact that I've upgraded to T5 HO lighting, I am now looking at buying some used CO2 equipment, but as I have never used CO2 before, I could use a bit of education!!!
Offered is a Singo (?) regulator, aquamedic solenoid, and unknown brand needle valve (from J&L Aquatics in Vancouver) and the actual tank.
So 2 questions - (1)any opinions on the listed brand names? and most importantly (2) what else do I need to use this in my fresh water tank?
Many thanks for all replies!!

·
Registered
2,251 Posts
Too bad you're on the island. Do you come to Richmond much? The reason I ask is cause I can give you a demo on setting them up and what to look for when setting up a compressed CO2 setup as I've lots available here.

Basically it would be good to have a dual guage regulator, solenoid valve, and a good needle valve. A bubble counter is also good, but if you test the water or have a CO2 drop checker then you can go by the readings.

It seems that you have a Sigmo regulator which is a good one. The rest is standard and should be ok as long as it works.

The only thing I can think of that you need is a CO2 diffuser but that's about it. I hope that helps. Good luck.

·
Registered
430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Mykiss - Many Thanks for the info - very helpfull!! As it looks like I will be buying this setup, and would like to support our sponsors, do you sell bubble counters and CO2 diffusers? If so, please PM me with price/shipping info.
PS - do I also need something other then standard clear plastic airline?
Thanks

·
Registered
124 Posts
you'll need tubing for connecting the CO2 to your diffuser...it's blue...and I think it's made of acrylic. Forgive me, it's late. I just know that it has to be for C02 because the carbonic acid can eat away at other types of tubing.