British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After 2 month of waiting I FINALLY found one of my female CRS with brownish red eggs on Sunday. But I think she is losing them (I'm not sure if the eggs are hatching because these eggs looks pretty large). Everyday I see less and less eggs and today I think she only has like 6 left. This is my first time breeding CRS so can someone tell me why she's loosing them and how long is she suppose to carry them for (like how long it takes the egg to hatch once it gets stuck to belly?)

·
Registered
572 Posts
After 2 month of waiting I FINALLY found one of my female CRS with brownish red eggs on Sunday. But I think she is losing them (I'm not sure if the eggs are hatching because these eggs looks pretty large). Everyday I see less and less eggs and today I think she only has like 6 left. This is my first time breeding CRS so can someone tell me why she's loosing them and how long is she suppose to carry them for (like how long it takes the egg to hatch once it gets stuck to belly?)
It depends on your temperature, crs eggs should hatch from 21-23 days if i can recall it correctly. I have the same problem with one of my females, she carried eggs like 3 times already but always drops all within the first few days of carrying the eggs. I don't know if she is unfertile but i think she is, IMO i think some females drop eggs because it is not fertilized or water quality causes them stress which in turn makes them drop their eggs.

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Darn :mad:
Well I still have 6 eggs so lets see if they survive or not.

·
Registered
572 Posts
Darn :mad:
Well I still have 6 eggs so lets see if they survive or not.
Just keep on trying she will come around if not this batch wait for the next one, just make sure your water parameters are all in range of keeping crs and you should do fine(fingers crossed). GL buddy!!!

·
Registered
700 Posts