British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I'm just getting into the hobby, but I have an odd question based on my boyfriend's experience today. He has slightly more experience with fish and is establishing a 30 gallon marine tank while I play with fresh water. We were at King Ed's yesterday and the asian gentleman sold him a fox face rabbit fish (really cute btw) and we got him home and put him in. I went online afterwards and discovered that the tank was too small and that it is actually quite poisonous. We took it back today and the gentleman told us that it would grow to the size of it's environment. When we questioned him on it, he walked away. My question is: Is it true that a fish like this will stop growing once it reaches the capacity of it's environment?

·
Registered
772 Posts
stunted fish.............. the organs in the fishes body will not grow to the normal size but stay smaller then it normally is which will be very bad and cause the fish to be unhealthy

·
Registered
2,888 Posts
Just like BigPete said, they'll be stunted, won't be as colorful and die a much earlier age than usual!

·
Registered
2,500 Posts
has been my experience in FW that fish will outgrow there environment.

·
Registered
1,854 Posts
I Never buy fish from King Eds. They say whatever they have to in order to sell their fish.

Equipment on the other hand can be found for a good price at King Eds.

If you want to buy fish, go to IPU (one of our sponsors). They have more variety of fish and all the workers there will give you an educated opinion and also help you find the right fish for your environment.

The above is from my personal experience.

·
Registered
2,888 Posts
I Never buy fish from King Eds. They say whatever they have to in order to sell their fish.

Equipment on the other hand can be found for a good price at King Eds.