British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
howdie, i'm a newbie, heard something like " growing your own fish food by hatching Brine shrimp". I'm a simple guy and thought it's a great idea of supplying your own fish food, save $$.

Any other thoughts on it?

·
Registered
1,985 Posts
white worms, microworms, daphnia, copepods, scuds, baby cherry shrimp, snails, organic kale. I also keep a couple of very small, uncovered still-water containers to lure in mayflies, mosquitoes and such, for their larvae.

·
Registered
2,503 Posts
any one breeding there own live black worms?

·
Registered
206 Posts
any one breeding there own live black worms?
Any particular reason for black worms? Red wigglers are aprently very easy to grow and in the process make compost.

My Wife talked me out of the idea as it`s to icky for her :(
And would be an extra hassle.. maybe next time if there`s another recession i`l revisit the idea

·
Registered
1,985 Posts
most of these vegetable and live foods cost virtually nothing to grow and require minimal effort. the benefits to your animals include increased vitality and health. the benefits to you are intensified colours, better breeding and fry survival rates, more interesting behaviors and activity.
did I mention the cost benefits compared to frozen food?

·
Registered
549 Posts
Here's something that works too.... When you have too much of a culture make your own frozen food.... Eventually you get to a point with a white worm culture that you need to divide it into a new one. Take the left over half of worm filled soil into a sieve with the bottom of the sieve barely submerged in water. Put a light over it. The heat and light force the worms out through the bottom of the sieve and into the water. Collect the worms and freeze away. You now have your own frozen fish food.

·
Registered
42 Posts
You guys should try feeding your wingless fruit flies.