British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

Doing a bit of a tank renovation. Finally got another tank to put my current fish in while I work on the tank. In the process of designing my new filter. ( I'm a plumber so I have access to a lot of the parts required and knowledge to install it correctly)
Was wondering if anyone's used Lava rock as a biomedia alternative. I plan on having my tank filter ATLEAST 6 times an hour maybe even double that. I plan on having a large section for bio media. Just those biochem stars are so damn expensive. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
749 Posts
I use it for my tilapia tanks and it seems to work well. The only thing I didn't like was the amount of washing to get the lava rock clean enough to use. I picked it up at a gravel pit in Chilliwack for $8.00 for a garbage can full.

·
ORIGINAL FORUM GANGSTER
2,311 Posts
From what I know a trickle filter is best

·
Registered
267 Posts
It should work just fine. If you think about it, there are a lot of those all over Asian water which helps in growing good bacteria or micro organism and filters the ocean beds

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Another thing you can use are the clay balls from hydroponic stores. They are cheap. I got a shopping bag full for 10.00. They are very porous and hold a lot of bacteria. I did t need to rinse much. Just threw them in a bucket to soak then drained and in the sump.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
4,021 Posts
Another thing you can use are the clay balls from hydroponic stores. They are cheap. I got a shopping bag full for 10.00. They are very porous and hold a lot of bacteria. I did t need to rinse much. Just threw them in a bucket to soak then drained and in the sump.