British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it just my local area or is Vancouver seeing this too?

Omega One has gone from $26.99 to $29.99 to $34.99 to $39.99 in under a year.

omega-one.jpg

I go through about one of these every 4-5 weeks.

·
Premium Member
1,107 Posts
Yes my invoices have raised dramatically. It's because when the loonie dropped the wholesalers held out raising it for some time by giving specials to compensate but with new stock arriving they could no longer eat the loss. So now things are way up. I see it when I have to price new shipments and way more than before. Big can of tetra bits used to be about 24 retail thrn 28 and now about 32!!! I do some deals on multiples but can't do the low prices I did before .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
420 Posts
I worked in retail for years and store markups usually run between 300% to 1000% of the Seller's wholesale purchase price. Many sellers have room to negotiate, especially if you are buying multiple items. So shop around. Also, two LFS I deal with offer "Price Matching" - even will do so with lower Walmart and online store prices. It doesn't hurt to ask: The worst they can say is "no." Naturally, with any retailer's stock, check the expiration dates. Lower prices may mean that there is not a whole lot of shelf life left. As long as the product will be used up within that time frame, snag a sale when possible and stock up.

;)

·
Premium Member
1,107 Posts
Not my store. I only double which is standard to make money and hold stock.
Some companies have a suggested retail price which is only double.
Not sure what stores you worked at .

·
Registered
420 Posts
To clarify:

I said that markups USUALLY are 300% - 1000%. There, of course, could be exceptions.