British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
519 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Tried to keep them a few years back but gave up after two attempts with 10 shrimp each. I don’t know what I did wrong, checked parameters and everything.

I’m gonna say I’m a huge noob in the hobby since I’m attempting it all over again.

Thanks,
-Kai

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
514 Posts
Should be super easy.

But for some reason for me, I can keep them no problem, but I never had the success to reach over 50s from 10~15 cherries... :(
The most i can breed them up to 40s, and then they start to disappear slowly... and I'm looking to start my 5th try soon, lol

·
Registered
519 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Should be super easy.

But for some reason for me, I can keep them no problem, but I never had the success to reach over 50s from 10~15 cherries... :(
The most i can breed them up to 40s, and then they start to disappear slowly... and I'm looking to start my 5th try soon, lol
Oh no did all yours end up dying off after hitting the 40 mark :( That's rough I'm gonna probably give it a try with 10-15 ish. Know the best local supplier for them? Prob gonna just start with some mid tier RCS.

·
Registered
2,994 Posts
For me Cherry shrimp has been pretty easy. Im no expert but this was what worked for me: cycled tank (took me 3 months to get there, I added shrimp at 6 weeks and they really didn’t do well until the 3-4 month mark), cool water, tds less than 250, and shrimp food.

·
Registered
360 Posts
For me red cherries were easy-started with a few, ended up with a big (over a hundred at one point) colony in a neglected 5gal heavily planted tank.
Yellow ones - different story, 3 tries and no luck.

·
Registered
347 Posts