British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to planted aquariums but after looking at other people's tanks I've become addicted. I've done my research and am probably going to go pressurized within the next couple months. I want to know how much a pressurized system will cost me so I could plan out expenses. If someone could lay down the cost of a system for me (tank 5 or 10 pound, regulator ect.) or send me a PM that would be great.

·
Registered
310 Posts
i got my system used for 150 with everthing, tank, regulator, solinoid, but new syestems range all over the place. used except 150 + and new 250 + for everthing. i found Co2 100% worth the price. really makes the difference, that and EI dosing.

·
Registered
5,556 Posts
It's an electric on\off switch basically. Plugged in CO2 flows, no power = no co2.

You plug it into a timer so you don't have to turn off your CO2 manually every night (if you are planning on doing so). I left mine on despite having a solenoid just so I had a more consistent PH level during night time.

·
Registered
124 Posts
I'd also add a PH monitor. C02 decreases your PH. Your PH monitor will cut off your C02 when it hits a PH that you set. Yay for no PH crashing and massive fish death :)

·
Registered
241 Posts
Here's my comments from a previous post:

I got my Milwakee Co2 Regulator from J&L for $90 (Milwaukee ma957 Co2 Regulator). comes with a regulator, needle valve, counter and a solenoid. Not bad for what you get.... (I don't know how long they last though... especially the solenoid part)

I set up mine for:
$60 - Annual lease of 20lb tank
$30 - gas for 20lb tank (I have no clue how long it lasts.. I've been using mine for 3 months and its still good)
$90 - regulator
= $180

Out of this I get a 20lb tank, the tank is on lease so 100% guarantee that the tank is hydrotested (since it is from praxair), and I'll get a 'new' one each time I order the gas.