British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well since seeing mark document his journey through the salt water set up i figure i may as well give it a whirl. Im pretty new at keeping my own tank but have been around salt water tanks all growing up.

I started with a fluval Spec V 5.6G tank with one little peice of rock and a few little corals and that same week i was already looking to upgrade.

I found a pretty decent looking tank and stand on craigslist that came with some stuff that i hoped would be everything i needed to get started, but of course once i got everything set up it was not nearly as good as it "could" be.

The tank is a oceanic 75G 45°angle bow front. Which looks really nice! The equipment it came with was a rapids pro ps4 filter system which was new, but missing the return pump... and also a single bulb halogen light... very out dated system...

Its funny how no matter what you get your always going to be looking to upgrade or improve it... haha

I got in touch with a local fish store owner and offered him some stuff for trade for store credit and we ended up making a deal and i had 700 in store credit to burn. I got myself a brand new eshopps psk 100, a koralia 1250 gph wave maker and some necessary equipment to get me started.

I set up the tank and used dry sand. The next morning my friend dad bring me 80 pounds of live rock, who has had hundreds of pounds of it in a giant tank for over 4 years!!
The rock pretty well instantly cycled my tank. There was sufficient bacteria and i only had a few minor spikes on water levels.

After 1 more week of sitting the ammonia and nitrite were 0 and i was ready to put some chromis in! This is when i transfered the corals over from the 5g tank and shut that down.