British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

I'm relatively new to planted tanks. This is what I currently have. I have a diy co2 and doing EI dosing. Plants are fairly doing well but I think im still low on Phosphate. Im looking for other colored plants and different shaped leaves to provide contrast to the tank.

Comments are welcome.

·
Registered
674 Posts
Very luscious green, looks like the type of plants and style I went for when I first started planted :)

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
I am still studying and observing how fast the plant grows and what happens to the plant when I propagate/trim them. i have ludwigia repens and lacustris which seem to have faded some of their reddish colors. Can this be because I have too much floaters and I need to reduce their numbers?

·
Registered
2,318 Posts
Floating plants look nice but they do have advantages and dis advantages. They are known to absorb nutrients which is good if you have algae problems. They provide cover for the fish but at the same time create shade in the tank. They might be part of your problem of why your red plants are fading. Almost all plants with red need good light and lots of Iron to keep red. I like the look of floating plants but they grow very fast. Best bet if you like the look is to constantly remove them but keep some.

·
Registered
477 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I will then be reducing my floating plants as I prefer to have my plants more red to have more color in the tank other than green.

The carpet plant in the middle is, if im not mistaken, is a dwarf hair grass. Its been in my tank for about 3 weeks and is just starting to take root. I find them a bit of a slow grower. The only thing positive that I can think of is that at least they are not melting/dying on me.

·
Registered
2,318 Posts