British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’m new to the hobby about 4 months. I have a 20 gallon tank with gravel, driftwood, and some plants. (I’m about to do another cleaning, damn hornwort plant is shedding and leaving a mess) I have in the tank: 1 betta, 1 clown pleco, 3 peppered Cory catfish and 3 albino Cory catfish. I do 20% water changes every week. One of the small albino Cory catfish is floating at the top, will swim barrel rolls, or lay sideways on the gravel out of the blue. All the rest are okay. I tested the water with API vials and it showed: ammonia: 0%, nitrites: 0%, nitrates:0%, and pH level is 7.8. I’m so confused what’s killing the little guy. I feed the betta 3 small little betta pellet balls about the size of his eyeball once a day, drop a algae wafer at night once a day for the pleco, and about 6-7 sinking pellets once a day for cories which they leave nothing behind. Please give me some advice, I hate to be a fish killer, thank you.
Water Green Pet supply Organism Aquatic plant

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi,

In my opinion, I'd say the problem is the PH (too high) and the kind of gravel doesn't help a lot too. They prefer more sand to small rounded pebbles.

All the rest you're doing well....but could be a bad luck too with this lil guy.
Thank you Andy 🙏 Any advice will do, I have thought about the gravel lately. I just don’t know how to change out all the gravel with all the stuff already set in place. I’m assuming it’s going to be a big mess. Also, I added the driftwood recently in hopes of it lowering the pH naturally but I don’t think it’s working.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·