British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
192 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm going to be documenting my next aquascape here and I just want share my experiences with everyone.
Now I want to start off by saying that I am by no means an expert. In fact I consider myself pretty amateur, especially with aquascaping, but I am always aspiring to learn more and improve. In doing so, I hope that my experiences become helpful or insightful for other new or novice aquarists seeking to get some insight in aquascaping.

Please feel free to comment, leave questions or even constructive criticism.

So without further ado, here's my next tank:

I'm using the ADA 45F. It's about 5 gals, very modest in size, but it's a beautiful shallow tank and great for many types of aquascape styles.
I'm going for sort of an igwami aquascape here. I'm trying the Dry Start Method for the first time because I read about all the success DSM has with HC 'Cuba'.

Other flora I am using: AR 'Mini', Mini Pellia and S. Repens. Possibly Downoi in the future, since I read that plant doesnt do great emersed.

I plan on doing this for 4-6 weeks before I flood the tank to allow my HC and Mini Pellia to grow in and secure themselves as much as they can.

So far, my only trouble is the Mini Pellia. It dries up incredibly fast. Although I am one week in, I still have to spray them every 4-5 hours. First few days I had to spray them every hour which was tough. I thought about gluing them right before I flooded my tank, but I am afraid of not liking how they will grow in and being unable to remove the plant/glue. Not to mention if it died somehow and just left a blob of glue on the rocks.