British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,925 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
this is my first attempt at a planted tank, feel free to post suggestions.
substrate is red fluorite
manzanita driftwood from Aprils Aquarium
plants are HC cuba, amazon sword and java fern
stocked with L 144 plecos and blue pearl shrimp

because of lighting issues mentioned below im wondering what other options there are for lights, can you get ones that just clip on the back and have flexible cord with a beam like light i can point down at the tank? and get rid of the canopy altogether?

originally i got this tank from snow to be a growout tank for african cichlid fry but i got some l 144 plecos from pat and after a day in the cichlid tank i noticed one of them had a bite out of the back of his tailfin so i moved them all into this 10g. i didnt want it to be bare for them so once i got my paycheck i went and picked up some driftwood and plants.
i put 2 upgraded lifeglo 15w cft's in the canopy, which then fell in the water, resulting in one going pop when turning it on the next morning (no shattered glass thank goodness,) so the original one is back on the right side. i figured the java fern needs less light than the other 2.

m hoping cichlid fry will still grow in this tank despite the low hardness since theyre such hardy fish, a friend of mine has yellow labs, some aceii i gave to him, and frontosa in a tank with absolutely no additives not even water conditioner just plain tapwater and theyve been like that for a year.
if mine dont like it i guess i'll have to battle with the gf for yet another tank, we'll see how it goes.

here are the pics: tank has lots of algae on the glass and i dont wanna rob the plecos of their food :)

only 1 pleco is visible, hes in the second picture under the heater directly under the blue sponge on the filter intake.