British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I just posted in the clasified section as I would like to get some cheap plants to add to my aquarium, I would LOVE to have a nicely palnted tank.

So, the story again:

I am pretty new with only about 1.5 months with a 5.5 g tank with a betta, apple snail, gravel, filter, heater, some decoration and a few plants that I don't seem to grow well. So, I am looking for advices plus cheap plants that I hopefully will be able to grow. The lighting is an IKEA 15W desc light that I got reccomented in the pet store, maybe not the best though :(

I have 1 hair grass and 1 other plant that I will try to find the name later, plus lots of hornwort that seems to be the only one to do really well. The hairgrass started well, but now loses the colour and some leaves are "melting" in water. This might be due to the aquarium salt I added to treat my betta. He is doing very well now, so that is a relief.

I read the sticky topics, but I am not sure if I can/need to do that in such a small tank with a betta.

Please, advice and thanks a lot in advance!

·
Registered
3,557 Posts
I also have a 5.5gallon tank. It depends how much plants you want in your tank and the types of plants you want.

The keys factors in determine plant growth are:
1) Lighting - each type of plant requires low/medium/high lighting (right now you have about 13/5.5 = 1.25 watts per gallon good for low light required plants.
2) CO2 - plants need food and CO2 is required. If you have just a few plants the fish would provide enough, but if you want good plant growth, then you may consider DIY yeast CO2 or dosing Seachem Excel.
3) Fertilizer/nutrients - depending on the type of substrate (gravel, flora base, eco complete) you have, plants will grow faster with nutrient rich substrate. However, you may consider dosing such fertilzers like seachem flourish trace and comprehensive.