British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,018 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,

This week I purchased 3 cherry shrimp for my Ebi and it is my first time keeping shrimp so I have some questions.

A) When I first added them to the tank after acclimating them for 4 hours I noticed they were surprisingly active. The 2 females in particularly spent a lot of time zooming around the tank at all levels. I wasn't sure if this was normal. It's been 3 days since I've had them now and they aren't as active anymore. In fact I barely see them at all especially the 2 females. Is something wrong or have they just settled into their new home?

B) Both females I got were berried when I got them. One of them seem to have lost her eggs. What happened? I don't see any babies so I don't think they hatched.

C) I have read that they are sensitive to copper. Currently I dose Flourish, Excel and Iron. Will any of these harm them? I know Flourish has copper in it, but I dose the minimum amount just once or twice a week.

·
Registered
399 Posts
Hmmm, i read so many articles about fert and shrimps. I stay away from it... i fear of a mass death of my yellows.

Mine just spend their days grazing for food. The males go crazy every once in awhile, but this is due to them searching for the female, to get her preggos.

As for dropping the eggs, it's normal for a first time mother to drop it. You can try to collect the eggs and artifically hatch them. There's an article you can find online on the how to.

·
Registered
636 Posts
Hi,