British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am sure that has been discussed before, so you can just give me some links if you prefer.

I am most probably setting 15 or 20 g tank during next few days. I always thought gravel was best, but after some chatting and reading I am considering sand now.

The tank will be heavily planted with snails, shrimps and fish and most probably aqua clear 30.
I find it difficult to do good vacuuming and maintanance of a planted tank with gravel, it is a pain to move around plants, etc. So sand might be the better choice, but I have no experience with sand.

Please, give your opinion.

Thanks!

·
Registered
8,717 Posts
If your tank is truly going to be heavily planted, how will you vacuum the substrate? Or will it only be heavily planted in one area, like the back? One thing that I've seen people to is to use dividers to create an open area in the front, and have the substrate of choice (ADA, Florabase, etc) in the back and white sand in the front. That keeps the front easy to clean and the back easy to plant with a nutrient rich substrate.

Why do you think that sand would be easier? You won't be able to vacuum at all since all the sand will be sucked up, and any moving of the plants will stir up a sandstorm which will be sucked up into your filters. I would have thought that one would use sand (that's what I'm planning to do) if they are not planning on having a heavily planted tank. Or perhaps I'm misunderstanding your intentions?

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
I like sand. it doesn't let the dirt or waste sink through it, meaning you can see exactly whats in the tank. It also anchors plants really well. Once I added white sand to my tank my fish looked so mouch better. Their colors really popped against the white.

·
Registered
957 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·