British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! This is my first time posting here.
I'm not entirely sure which category this question fits into really.
I'm also sure this has been asked before but I can't seem to find any info that's more recent than a couple of years.

I've been interested in finding a number of higher/breeding quality betta, half moons, crown tails and so on for many years. I have an interest in genetics and biology, I also happen to really like betta lol. My plan is to breed them as a hobby. I have a pretty good understanding of the process and the difficulties so I wont get into that atm.

I understand it can be a little difficult to track down good betta genetics here in BC.

I've found a few places in my search that claim to have decent betta for sale. I'm wondering if anyone has used these sellers before and could tell me if they are reliable or should be avoided. (I have been scammed in an online order years ago and now i'm a bit paranoid)

I would prefer a breeder/seller in BC or as far as Calgary. Then I could see the fish in person before purchasing.
If need be I have even considered going as far as a trip to Thiland to have a look at the farms there. That would depend on how cost effective I could make it. (And if anyone can recommend a decent betta farm in that area)

Also a local importer could be a good option, I really prefer to keep it local if possible.

Any help or recommendations would be great thanks!

Here are some of the sellers i've been able to find:

Renasfishstore.ca

Grandbettacanada.tripod.com

Bettafishstore.com

Aquariumswest.com

·
Registered
2,944 Posts
April one of our sponsors here has been bringing in all kinds of betta at her shop in Burnaby.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
25 Posts