British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I've been keeping & breeding bettas for 5 years, and I've never had a problem like this one. Hopefully someone with more sick-fish experience can help me identify the problem...please excuse the long post; I have no pictures, and I wanted to list all the details thoroughly.

Recently (about 2 weeks ago) one of my female bettas started swimming funny - she was kind of on her side, and her tail had a tendency to float to the surface. She looked a bit round in the stomach, so I guessed that it was a constipation problem causing swim bladder issues. I fasted her for 3 days or so, then fed her some small pieces of thawed frozen pea. There was some poop in the bottom of her tank, so I didn't think that the constipation problem would turn out to be too serious. I continued to alternate fasting with feeding small bits of pea for the rest of the first week.

Then she started having increasing difficulty swimming. Each day she got worse, to the point where one night she wasn't able to eat without me patiently holding a piece of pea directly in front of her mouth with a pair of tweezers. She seemed to have no strength at all to swim, and when I scooped her into a plastic cup in order to clean her tank, she didn't try to swim away from me, and even flipped over a couple times from the movement of the water.