British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm wanted to start up a shrimp tank and I am not sure what equipment are suitable for it. I'm think to start small since I'm a full time student and don't have much budget. I would like to get a better understanding o:
1. Is a 10 g tank be fine with around 10 ~ 15 red cherry shrimps ?
2. What kind of filter will I need to use.
3. What kind if lighting should I use.
4. What is the cost for all the supplies like : water ph kit, bacterial built up, live plants and substrate.
I could afford approximately a hundred max for everything include live stock.

Thank you.

·
Registered
109 Posts
1. Yes 10g's enough
2. Sponge filter for sure
3. Lighting doesn't matter much unless you have plants
4. Cost would depend on which plants you want and where youmd get them. You can buy things from the forum, but with substrate, always get a new one since buffering capability deteriorates over time. Common one is ada amazonia and should be about $25ish at aquariums west for i think 3L? That's enough for a 10g

Get amazonia, heater, filter, and tank first and cycle it. I think it would take 3,4 weeks for it to completely cycle. You can get plants and shrimps after. Maybe you'll have more money to spend, wirh more liberty to do whatever you wanna do :) bacteria powder is a plus, but definitely not required, especially if you're just housing cherries

Always nice to see someone trying out shrimp keeping! Good luck!

·
Registered
288 Posts
1. I have cherries in a 10 gallon and find it's plenty big enough.

2. Most people use a sponge filter and that's what I'd probably recommend. I happen to use a mini hang on back filter, BUT... I put a piece of sponge over the intake so that none of the shrimps or babies get sucked up into it and the outflow isn't terribly strong so they don't get pushed around at all.