British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everybody,

Recently, I set up a five gallon Fluval Spec tank. This is a lovely little nano tank and I've had some experience with the Fluval Spec before because I once owned three of the 2 gallon Specs. This one has exactly the same filter, motor and sponge. However, it is not silent like the others I had. It has a persistent hum that I can hear anywhere in the room and is annoying. It's not loud, but it's annoying anyway.

The little motor is a tight fit in the Fluval Spec and I'm not sure if I can adjust it in any way. Do you have any suggestions? Other than the noise, this is the perfect little tank.

Thanks,
Maureen

·
Registered
293 Posts
I have a spec v and the filter makes barely any sounds. Perhaps the motor is dirty and soemthing is stuck in it? I learned that you have to clean the motor once in a whole because gunk gets stuck on it.

·
Registered
3,998 Posts
Yes pull it up, clean the impeller , turn the speed down a bit and make sure the motor isn't hitting the glass and its in its little rubber feet when you lower it back down. Should t make noise unless it's vibrating against the glass channel.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you, everybody. I will pull it up and clean it (although it is new) and stick it back down again and see if that helps. Certainly, my other Specs were silent. It is pretty, though.

·
Registered
2,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
So, I have tried the suggestions by taking the filter out, cleaning it as best I could (although it was brand new and I'd actually hoped that it would get quieter if it gooped up a bit), moving it a little this way and that, and so on, and it still has that vibrational sound. It is not super loud but for the room it is in (our main floor den, where I work) it is distracting.