British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a (standard 4') 55G tank in my kitchen that needs a revamp. It's currently a high tech planted tank, but that's just not something I'm enjoying anymore.

I recently got back into tanganyikans with two young colonies of shellies. N. multifasciatus and L. hecqui, which I'm not expecting spawns from for at least a few months. I've kept J. transcriptus, N. multifasciatus and T. duboisi in the past, so I have some experience keeping and breeding tanganyikans.

As much as I would like to do a community tank, open water tangs are priced too high locally for me to be able to justify (around $40 CAD each) and local breeders seem to be nonexistent. In addition, I cannot justify another shellie colony right now, and I don't really want to relocate one of the existing colonies either. I think a species tank will be my best bet.

The tank will be filtered by an AC70 and two fluval canister filters. Decorated with sand and feather rock. The grow out system will likely include 1-2 standard 20G tanks, and either a 40G breeder or (another) 55G

These are the species I've been able to find available locally:

Julidochromis (any)
A. calvus
N. brichardi
Leleupi
N. cylindricus

Which would have the highest fry survival rate?

Which would allow for the largest breeding colony?

Would love to hear some firsthand experiences.

·
Registered
724 Posts
Brichardi are quite prolific but they will take over a large territory and eventually dominate a tank

Julie's are great because territories are smaller and fry survive well as long as there are no predators such as Leleupi who aside from eating invertebrates such as brine shrimp, will happily also eat fry. Furthermore leleupi can be very aggressive- I have 1 male and 2 females who barely get along in a 175g

Cylindricus are closely related to leleupi and share similar temperaments

·
Registered
7,006 Posts