British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the hobby and have a 40 gallon tank. Just the tank. No lid etc. I want to make it a simple planted aquarium because quite frankly it seems overwhelming at this point with understanding Co2 etc. :fearful:. Soooo who wants to tell me how to spend money? Lol. I'm on a budget and don't mind going slow.

·
Registered
3,009 Posts
Welcome to the forum and to aquarium keeping!!

If you're new to the hobby I would certainly stay away from CO2, there is a decent learning curve when applying it.
This is where I would put my money to start:

Light - doesn't need to be a very strong one to start with.
Filter - always look for something rated a bit higher than your tank. If the box says "good for tanks up to 40 gallons,: I would pass on it and get the filter "good for tanks up to 60-75 gallons."
Heater - 100watt should be enough
Gravel/Sand - you don't need the fancy fertilized stuff unless you intend to commit to growing a lush planted tank.
Plants - "low tech" plants such as Anubias or Java Ferns are easy to start with and fairly cheap
Fish - as a beginner try to stick to fish that prefer water @ 7.0ph. Also, make sure they are compatible.
Optional - some sort of anti parasite medication....

Reactions: Jousters and Dou

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you! I do plan on trying to have a lush planted tank. I have a little 5.5 gallon going that I just planted up. I used flourite subtrate but at $27 a bag I can't imagine how much it would cost to do the 40 gallon. What kind of filter would you recommend? I'm thinking I want to go the canister route but that is new to me as well. (I only know pond filters) Thanks again!:grinning:

·
Registered
3,009 Posts