British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,855 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am thinking of switching over to a sump system for my 155Gallon tank and I have a few questions / concerns that need to be cleared up before I decide to go that way.

My main concern is about the water overflowing from the sump in case of some failure. I have a HoB overflow for the sump (where water goes down to the sump), so I am assuming that if the water level goes low enough, then no more water would go into the sump and hence a failsafe method to not flood my apartment.

Considering this, how big of a sump would I need for a 155Gallon tank? I have enough space to put in a 75Gallon tank inside the stand, but I would prefer something smaller in length.

I am a total noob to sump systems and I've never used one before. Some members were kind enough to let me know how it works in theory before, so I have some idea.

Please help me out in this debate and convince me that I should get a sump system running :)

I am also looking for information on how to set it up, what equipments I need and how much it could cost me etc.

·
Registered
37 Posts
I would think with a planted tank you would not need a sump.
But if you go that root. they are expensive. You would need a fairly large return pump, the sump would need baffles in to to control flow and air bubbles.
The best way is to drill the tank and put in overflows. If you use a HOB overflow, make sure that it has an air lift to restart the flow in the event of a power outage.You can get float switches that will shut down the the return pump in case the overflow get clogged. Which for me would be a concern with a planted tank.

Do a search on sumps and you will come up with a lot of advice. Search Durso standpipe. It shows you how to make the overflow silent.

Good luck

·
Registered
743 Posts
If you are serious talk to John at Kings Ed, he is really helpful. He eduacted me pretty quick on sump basics.