British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,851 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I currently have a 75Gallon Planted that I am thinking of switching over to salt water.

This idea just came to me an hour ago (since someone else here is also doing something similar).

I am thining about FOWLR setup.

I was wondering how much it would cost to change it over and what options would I have for fish stock in a 75Gallon tank? I am interested in SW Angels.

I have a stingray stand, so I am not sure if I can fit a proper sized sump in there. Hopefully its not a requirement and I can get by with ehiem 2260.

I guess I will need to buy Aragonite Sand, Live Rock (cured? uncured?), refractometer (whatever that is... check salinity?) and a HoB skimmer (since I dont have sump?)

I am a total noob in saltwater and I am looking for advice and guidance from the experts.

I will be bugging Anthony tonight :D

·
Registered
124 Posts
Now, keep in mind that I've only been into SW for less than a year, so I'm still a major newb too, but I too came from a freshwater background. So maybe I can offer a little help.

First of all, I don't think you'll need the eheim. Your live rock is going to be your biological filtration.

Secondly, as I'm finding out, a refugium is a great idea. If you can't do a sump (or don't want the noise) then you can get a HOB refugium to grow macro algea and 'pods (tasty critters for fish to munch on) in.

As for live rock - how much are you planning on getting? I mean, as far as scaping goes? I'd grab as much as possible. Someone else can better tell you the recommended amount for a 75gal tank, but I recommend that you hunt around for a good price - don't pay for cured live rock, and buy a base of "dead" rock that your new live rock will "revive". I'd also avoid spending too much money on sand - if you want to, buy a little bag of Caribsea Live sand and mix it in with something cheaper. Could make things go a little faster.