British Columbia Aquarium Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi im new to site how yall doing.hi have a brother who is living in chiang mia thailand teaching english.is there any fish there worth bringing into bc that i couls possibly resell or unique fish not available here for my own tank?

·
Registered
2,164 Posts
hi im new to site how yall doing.hi have a brother who is living in chiang mia thailand teaching english.is there any fish there worth bringing into bc that i couls possibly resell or unique fish not available here for my own tank?
Lots of work and capital invested in importing fish but Thailand has lots to offer! I ordered from Thailand a few times and their stingrays are awesome. I went to Chang Mai and didn't see as many ornamental fish there than Bangkok. If he hasn't been to Chatuchak market yet, it is an eye opener for sure!

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
can he purchase fish in market and send over or does it have to be done thru export co.how much to send a box to vancouver.they have nice pix of discus but photoshop might be involved.the online guys want 5 box orders wonder if they couuld send smaller load over or it might not be worthit.

·
Registered
2,164 Posts
Not worth it to send anything less than 5 boxes. There is a lot of paper work and fees involved. Shipping is very expensive as well.

·
Registered
2,944 Posts
I think unless you import for personal use, non commercial, then the customs/documentation isn't nearly as difficult. Shipping still can be pricey obviously so i really wouldn't do anything unless it's high dollar rare fish.

Sent from my gigantic Samsung Note 2

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·