British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well i just came home from work as we speak and i noticed one of my shrimp tanks is not lit so i tried unplugging it a few times and everytime i plug it in only one bulb which is 6,700k would light up for a couple of seconds and die right after,the 10,000k doesn't light at all. So i tried to switch the bulbs and the same thing happens, is my bulbs dead? I got this from you guys with my brand new GLO 24" double T5HO 24wx2 last december 28,2009, my question is do they die that fast? I have been using the light fixture for about 4 1/2 months now and only turned on 6 hours a day. I'm asking this because i don't want to buy another set of bulbs which cost me $23.99 each and die after 4-5months of use(did this ever happen to any other costumer buying the coralife T5HO bulbs)? I've always used coralife CFL and this is the first time i have used a GLO fixture with coralife bulbs if someone could please explain to me what has happened here that would be greatly appreciated. I love the GLO fixture and never had any problem until now with bulbs being dead after 4-5months of use and only 6hours a day(plugged in a timer).

Also i'm planning to buy a replacement bulbs tomorrow which is 24" 24w, one 6,700k & the other 10,000k if you guys have this in stock please let me know asap. Thank you so much...

Cheers,
Stephen

·
Registered
742 Posts
I've had a few GLO fixtures for a year and they're still going. Bulbs still worked but I changed them because the light output wasnt as good as it was before. I also used the generic 6700k lights that Rogers has for $10 each.

·
Registered
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've had a few GLO fixtures for a year and they're still going. Bulbs still worked but I changed them because the light output wasnt as good as it was before. I also used the generic 6700k lights that Rogers has for $10 each.