British Columbia Aquariums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3,138 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I wanted to address an issue that comes up form time to time. At IPU we strive to ensure our clients are purchasing fish from us in the right numbers and the right compatibility for their aquariums. How far should this go? For example, we have our coding in place for compatibility. The majority of our clients follow this guide but we will get orders that have incompatible fish on one form. When we address it, usually the order is modified for the greatest success. Often the client has multiple aquariums and that is why the order is such.
The reason I am posing this question is we feel the decision is ultimately up to the client. As a hobbyist, I researched any fish I purchased before jumping at it. When I was younger and was keeping freshwater, I often mixed fish that were completely unsuited to each other but things have changed considerably since then and reputable stores provide a coding or similar system.
We have at times attempted to guide a client's choices to which some take offense. How far should the retailer go? We have always imported rare species and normally the client already is aware of the needs of that fish and have been looking for it. Yes impulse buy still exists but those clients still ask questions. As retailers, we offer the best quality and selection we can but we are not here to tell you what or what not to purchase. This is up to the hobbyist to decide.